Dear You,


This year for Christmas, as some of you already know, I will be staying in North Carolina and “giving myself away.” Part of that is going to the Helen Wright Center for Women and helping remodel the whole place, and another was to take part in our collective abundance as a church body and help give the Wake Forest Fire Department an extra special Christmas bonus. I have been so blessed to have been able to have a part in that. I know that God loves to bless a cheerful giver, and I was more than cheerful with being able to offer such a small piece to the large heap that we gave to them. We are also honoring them in our Sunday service because we want them to know how much we appreciate all that they do for our community. They would run into a burning building to save us and our families, and that takes a special kind of hero.
The Helen Wright Center for Women has been an on-going service project that we began December 3rd, and will be rounding up on December 19th. I am so excited to have been able to go there so many days just to paint or plaster, or even make coffee for the team. We are currently over a week ahead of schedule and are now entering into Phase 2 of the project which wasn’t going to begin until April. But, again, because of our collective abundance as a church body, we have been able to get so much done there, and done with excellence.
This Saturday, we will be taking the women out for a “pampering day.” They will be coming to the church for a light breakfast and meet and greet, and then we will be taking them to Salon 10 for makeovers! I am so excited about this. The ladies will be able to get their hair, nails and make-up done, all as a gift from Living Word Family Church. After they are “beautified,” we will be taking them to Ruby Tuesdays for a meal. We will be concluding the evening with a Rose Ceremony where we will be giving them a rose and a small gift to remember their day with the ladies of LWFC. One of the things, though, that I am most excited about, is Christmas Day. The volunteers that helped makeover the Helen Wright Center will be going to the center to present the women with another gift from Urban Ministries and Living Word Family Church. We have prepared large duffel bags full of goodies for the women that we are so excited to present them with. The bags will include things like slippers, robes, toiletries and a blanket. I just wish we could offer them more. It is the vision of LWFC that we are able to show the love of Christ to the 38 women at the shelter in hopes that we may draw even one into a relationship with the One who loves them most.
This project is so dear to my heart because I have been where they are. I know what it is like to have nowhere to call home; I know what it is like to think that nobody cares about me. I have been to the point where I didn’t see why I was even alive. I don’t want any of these women to have to go through what I had to go through to find eternal life in Christ Jesus. It is also my hope, that you too can sense the Spirit of the season. Maybe you, too, can “give yourself away” this holiday season. It is, after all, the season of giving.

P.S. We ended up giving the Wake Forest Fire Department a $35,000 Christmas bonus.  That, is collective abundance.  I have also added a link to the pictures of the Helen Wright Center.

One thought on “Dear You,

Leave a Reply

