The world is waiting…


If you didn’t already know this about me, I love missions.  I love sharing the Gospel with people.  I especially like telling people for the first time that “Jesus Loves You.”
We’re pretty much bombarded with “Jesus.”  Or the idea of a higher power.  But there are people in this world that have never heard His Name.
That is where my heart is.
I love going i missions, even if it’s just a local outreach.  I want people to know that even the hardest of hearts can be softened.  For those of you who knew me B.C.  (Before Christ)  You know that I was pretty rough.  I can still be pretty mean… but that’s a whole different story.
What I am trying to say is that people are dying and going to hell.
I hate it.

On a higher note… 🙂

I have been subscribing to a newsletter for a few years from Seth Barnes from Adventures in Missions.  These people go allover the world and tell people about God, they help heal people and give them a new life.  They equip the future generations for the work of the Ministry.  I believe that they are doing amazing things.
Well, I got this last newsletter and I wanted to share it with you.  It is a “year in review” sort of thing from their misionaries that went allover the world in 2007.  It’s really amazing, and the testimonies are great.
If you have a heart for missions at all you’ll love it.  And maybe it will light a fire in you as it has for me.
As you may, also, know, my brother-in-law is from Africa.  The last post is pretty dear to my heart.  The only thing we can do, though, is pray for them.  For more info go to www.cnn.com or here for up-to-date info.

Here be it…

Adventures In Missions
January 2008 Newsletter
“Becoming Roof-Rippers”

There’s a story in the Gospels of four men ripping a hole in the roof to lower their friend down to see Jesus. They defied convention to get the job done. Down below, so many religious people had filled the house that it was impossible for the poor and the needy to reach Jesus.

We do the same thing. Because we as humans have a default position of comfort, we need to guard against filling our churches with religion that keeps the poor and needy out. At AIM, we introduce our missionaries to God’s heart for the poor by immersing them into situations where they desperately need to bring hurt and needy people to Jesus, just like those four men. Thanks for joining us for a great year of ministry in ’07; we are hopeful for ’08. Click the links below for the past month’s featured blogs. And for more on becoming a roof-ripper, visit my blog.

For the Kingdom,

Seth Barnes
www.sethbarnes.com
A Different Kind of Christmas
By Christie Albaugh

When I think about Christmas, I think about my friends back at home, Starbucks in hand, bundled up in jackets and scarves, walking around, looking at Christmas lights. I think of our annual Christmas ornament and Secret Santa gift exchange. Name a time, and I can tell you exactly what my family would be doing, all the way from Christmas breakfast till pumpkin pie dessert. it never changes. It’s Christmas. Well, this Christmas was far from traditional. Christmas Eve was spent having a bonfire on the beach, roasting s’mores, and singing worship songs. Christmas morning, I woke up, put on my swimsuit, and headed out for a morning workout. It lasted a good three minutes, until we realized there were jellyfish, at which point we swam straight for the shore.

The rest of the day was spent hanging out on the beach, taking a nap, and finishing off with dinner at an Italian restaurant down the beach. Pizza for Christmas, that’s normal, right? One thing that was the same was that my family was there. It was cool for them to be able to see the ministry location that I have loved the most so far this year, and for them to be able to get to know the people that are my family for the year as well. I love Christmas, and I love my traditions, but it was awesome to have a year where it really wasn’t about all that.

Read more…

I Miss Africa
By Abigail Braun
Oh, good old America…

It’s great to be home most moments, but I can’t wait to get back to Africa, with my team. I miss being able to turn to anyone and talk about my faith and what God is doing. I miss worshiping and praying with the people. I have never seen such real and meaningful worship and desire before. People have nothing by American standards, but they thank God more than most of us do. I’ll never forget the freezing cold, amazing showers, the carb-crazy meals, the smell of our clothes after being on the line for a day, being waken up at the crack of dawn by my lovely teammates, sweating during drime practice, fitting 20+ people in the Kumbi, walking to and from the church in J-bay to hear the amazing discipleship conference, running in the pouring rain to the township, having braii on Sundays with the delicious pap and meat, hearing the African choir sing in Atteridgeville, and the look on everybody’s faces on days we got… mail!

Oh, the amazing things God does.

Read more…
Haggai Speaks: Why I’m going on the World Race
By Katie Rowland

Now this is what the LORD Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways. You have planted much, but have harvested little. You eat, but never have enough. You drink, but never have your fill. You put on clothes, but are not warm. You earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it.” (Haggai 1:5-6)

As I’m reading this, it strikes me. So much of my life, I have only looked out for myself. I’ve been concerned with what I will eat, what money I will earn, where I will live, what career I will work. I’ve been so blessed with resources; yet, so much of the time have been so ungrateful for them and have been so wasteful. How much of my life and my resources have I really given to build the house of the Lord? I can’t really say–not much! As I read the book of Haggai, I hear the Lord speaking to me. He is reminding me that I have been given my life and these resources/blessings for one purpose: to build the house of the Lord. To be a servant, living only to usher people into the presence of Jesus Christ.

Read more…
Fasting and praying for the Kenyan Violence
By Denis Eckert

Most of you have heard of the unrest in Kenya. More than 300 people have been killed and at least 70,000 driven from their homes across Kenya. I am to be moving to the very slum where much rioting has happened. These people are very close to my heart. I am asking that you join with me to pray that God works in miraculous ways.
May peace be restored in Kenya! Pray for restoration of peace. Pray that there is a true reconciliation between the tribes. Pray that the killing ends. Pray that the displaced will be able to return home soon. Pray that there will be an establishment of a secure government. Pray that the Lord will move powerfully on behalf of His children in Kenya. Pray that it will join the body in Kenya into perfect unity. May Christ be brought glory through all these things.

Read more…

Leave a Reply

