Ephesians 4:26-27


Wednesday, January 17, 2007

Ephesians 4:26-27″When you are angry, do not sin, and be sure to stop being angry before the end of the day.  Do not give the evil away to defeat you.” (NCV)Ok.  So I’m pissed off.  Enojado.  Some stuff is really getting to me.
I was told a couple of weeks ago that we need to stop playing karaoke during church services.  Yeah.  Playing a worship cd and singing along to it is ‘karaoke’ as this person put it.  And aparently, they are not alone in their thinking.
Well.  I had some words to say to them right then, but I was not allowed to because of their ‘position’ in the church.  Whatever.
So I thought it was the end of this garbage.  They brought it up at a meeting.  Voted.  No more praise and worship music in the church.

My response:  “@#$%^&*!!!!”

Some background.  This church is a small one.  Lots of old people.  They’re all really nice.  They like to sing hymns with an organ accompaniment.  Good for them.  It’s the way the generations before them sang praises.
I guess I’m just a little bit not old, but I think that it is time for a change.
This generation (14-30 year olds) are not getting fed what they need to be fed.  But they are eating up whatever the world hands out.  They look for more of it.  They do not seek the church for spiritual food because it is too boring.  It’s not relevant

Here’s what I had to say.

We’re sending these kids to hell in a hand basket.  There is nothing here for the ones that need God the most.  The ones that have to stare Satan in the face day after day in their schools and in the media.  If we don’t draw them in with our music and other extracurricular activities, they’ll go elsewhere, and they are.  Our high school youth ministry consists of FOUR kids.  Four.  You can count them on one hand.  So it’s opened up to some of the middle schoolers, two hands.  Ok.  So what about the other 30,000 kids in the Des Moines and metro area?
It may seem like karaoke to some of the older people who are not ‘hip with the times.’  But to the kids that are bombarded with music videos with nearly naked ladies and pimpin drug dealin thugs, it’s very chill.

I understand trying to make the whole congregation happy is not an easy thing to do, and quite possibly, not possible.  That’s why there are 2 services.  One for contemporary, i mean karaoke, and another for singing hymns, which also makes God smile.  (It doesn’t matter how we praise God, as long as we are doing it.)
So.  I don’t really have time to get in to all of this stuff, I have to go get my oil changed soon, but there are a few more things that I want to say.

“Then David and all the house of Israel played music before the LORD on all kinds of instruments of fir wood, on harps, on stringed instruments, on tambourines, on sistrums, and on cymbals.” (2 Samuel 6:5)

If it was cool then, why isn’t it now?  Or… If it’s good enough for the world, why can’t we praise the God of everything with our music?  Aren’t we called to sing praises to God?  And to praise Him in everything we do?  So if the world can offer amazing music, why can’t the church?  Are they not concerned with the souls that are being pushed away from the church?
I just pray that it’s not too late before they realize that they’re writing off their next generation of leaders and preachers and evangelists…

They’re offering soup lunches and ham sandwiches, but not an intimate relationship with Jesus Christ.

They pushed me away and look where I ended up.  I waited until it was almost too late before I looked to God for help.  I don’t want that to happen to these kids!  It’s not fair.  Jesus died for them and they’re killing themselves.  They’re getting high because it’s ‘cool.’  They’re having sex with strangers because so-n-so has had sex with 23 people and she’s only in the 11th grade.  WHAT THE CRAP!!!???

I know I’ve said this before, and I want to sound like a broken record… They’re trying to fill a God shaped hole with a Satan shaped object.  They’re trying to fit something physical in something spiritual and it’s not going to fit…

So.  I’ll end on some Beloved lyrics…

“We were born for battle, without vision we will die.”

My vision:  Arming todays youth for the battles they’ll face tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

