Things They Are A Changin’!


things they are a’changin’

So.  Tonight I went to a different church.  It was weird.  I hate being in a strange place, not knowing anyone.  I sat there for awhile, then was abducted by a very talkative bunch of people, very nice people.
It was P&W and they kept talking to me.
The message was weird, we colored pictures, something I like to do.
I learned something very important from going to a new place.  I got to put myself in the position of every newcomer.
I didn’t know anyone.
I introduced myself to people, which isn’t something that many newcomers have the guts to do in a new environment, and it’s something that I’m not very comfortable doing in my own home church.

One of the reasons, I think, that people don’t just jump in to new environment is because they’re scared of that ‘first impression.’
I know that I don’t have anything to worry about.  I’m good people, and pretty easy going.  But there was a time when I wasn’t very outgoing and open.  I had up my walls, and lived in my little box.
So what, right?
So what can we do, as Christians, to help people not have their guards up when they go to a church they’ve never been to?
I had the upper-hand since I was already a believer, but what about the people that are just ‘looking?’  The people that are on the verge of breaking, and feel that church is their last resort?
I don’t know.
But I can say from experience, that the people you meet when you first arrive are the ones that are going to effect your life forever.  Luckily, I met some amazing people, and I will never be the same.
But tonight, no offense to the people I met tonight, but I… gah… Really overwhelming.
I need to stop.  I don’t know what to say.
I just know that soon I will be jumping into a new church family and I won’t have my friends down the street or across town to help make me feel less intimidated.  I won’t be able to go back to my home church in a couple of days where I feel comfortable.
I’m scared.  I hate that people won’t know me.  I don’t want to go through the initial ‘breaking in’ period again.
New environments are stupid.

Leave a Reply

