YO!


Today has been busy.  I guess.  It doesn’t feel like I got anything done because I didn’t get the one thing done that I really wanted to get done, and that was to learn 2 new songs for Stage 20 Praise and Worship band.  Yeah.  Joseph finally convinced me that it’s time I use my gifts and since I’ve been playing the guitar for years now, I would have to agree.
I am learning more and more chords, which aren’t that difficult since I have been reading tabs since 1997.  It seemed easier for me, for some reason, to find the tabs rather than learn the actual notes.  Fear of learning maybe?  I don’t know.  I know how to play concert instruments and read music for them, but learning how to play the guitar seemed hard for some reason.
My next goal?
Learn 2 songs a month.  By learn I mean, be able to play/sing them.  Maybe not at the same time, but it’s what I love to do.  Praise and Woship is my all-time favorite thing to do.  It makes my fake joy turn into real joy.  It’s just like Pastor Steve said this weekend.  In Nehemiah 8:10 – “… Don’t be sad, because the joy of the Lord will make you strong.”
It’s true.  If I ever feel like… junk, I turn on praise music and I can feel the Holy Spirt dancing inside of me, and it makes me want to dance, too.
God is smart.  He knows just what to do to make me smile and it’s music.
Anywho.  I feel like I am going on about what I didn’t do today, but let me tell you what I did do!
I am currently looking for a job, so I posted my resume in a couple places online, sent new e-mails from past inquiries, re-applied to places where my online application had expired, made a brand new resume, and it’s one of the greatest ever.  Volunteering looks so great on a resume, and lucky for me it’s my 2nd greatest past-time hobby.
I e-filed my taxes, minus a couple of things that I hope don’t matter too much.  This was quite the ordeal.  I didn’t get my church giving record, and by the way, GIVING BACK TO THE LORD MATTERS!  Even when I thought I was giving such an insignificant amount, the collective abundance really added up!  This is truly a praise report… My cost for moving from Iowa to North Carolina was deductable!  I actually met all of the requirements and then some!  Being a volunteer really made a difference too, all of the transportation to and from the Helen Wright Center was also tax deductable.  I didn’t really realize it at the time, but wow!  I am really excited about this.  My return, minus all of the fees and whatnot, is more than 2x what I received last year, and I worked LESS!  Well, I worked for the Home Depot, which paid better than Dominos, so that made a difference too.  Anyways, my taxes are filed and I just got an e-mail that said…

“Congratulations!!! Kelsie J. Newby’s electronic tax return has been accepted by the Philadelphia IRS processing center on 03/10/2008. Your 2007 federal tax return is now complete.
Your refund will be deposited into your bank account within the next two weeks. See IRS Publication 2043  to determine the approximate date your refund will be deposited by the IRS.”

How about them apples, eh?
Right.  So moving right along…  I was handed a task as I was entering the chuch at 8:15am and that was to make a graphic for Pastor Tammy.  I did it.  It’s done.  I even ‘got’ to learn how to use this new editing program I have on my computer.  It’s NOTHING like Photoshop, but I don’t have that.  But… It’s done.  🙂

I put together my 2008 “Goal’s Binder.”  This is a binder that I am going to try REALLY hard to keep up with.  I hate using paper, but sometimes it’s easier to physically see what is on the agenda than to have to find it online somewhere.  The hard part about that is PHYSICALLY putting it all together, EVERYDAY!  But I really need to get myself organized again.  I have been off a schedule for a long time now, and it has everything all messed up.  And since I am trying to find a job, I need to know when I am available to work so I don’t tell them something and then am not able to do it.
I still have to print off my updated calender, which I updated today, also.  I love google.  🙂  It’s my friend.

Um.  I also cleaned out my music folder.  I found some stuff that had hot chocolate spilled on it from years ago, and threw it away… oooo  it was really difficult.  I 3-hole punched all of my music so I can actually use the binder I bought like, say, 3 years ago.  I have been stuffing the pocket with music, and my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle folder has pretty much had a good life.

There is still much to do on my list, some things won’t get done today, and they may not get done until Wednesday, or later, but there are a few things that should have been a higher priority because they needed to be done over a month ago.  Like, say, my change of address.  One of the reasons my taxes were filed so late was because I still haven’t gotten all of the required documents for it.  I had to go searching online and give Dee a hard task of locating my tithing record, which, by the way, I love FellowshipOne!  I was lost in cyber space, and Dee found me!  I called, she answered, and she came to my rescue…  sorry.

OH!  I also removed all of the booter/bot programs from my computer.  Well, I kept the one that I made most recently.  I just can’t help myself! I love sending useless information to everyone with a .com email address.  haha.  It’s an easy way for shameless self promotion.

I still have to call Tiger Direct about a rebate form that is EXPIRED but the rebate company said to call them about it.  I really want that $10, but for all of the work this has been… whatever.

And most importantly to do on my little check-box to do list…

Create my support letter for Costa Rica Missions!
This year I will be sending physical letters and for the fist time, e-mail letters.  Since we can give online, I will just send some people that would prefer to give online, an e-mail.  And there have been people asking where their letter is.  ie: The Home Depot people I promised a letter to.
I have to really work on that.  I don’t want to write a book, but I really want them to know just how important missions are, and how much they mean to me.  This year is going to be amazazing… yeah.  amay-za-zing!

That’s all I can say about that.  I finally got my video to upload onto youtube, so here it is.

p.s. I spilled a bottle of water in my purse this morning.  🙂

3 thoughts on “YO!

  1. Kelsie, we’re so proud of you. It’s been so encouraging to see what God has done and is doing in your life over the last few years – what was lost, now being found step by step. You encourage the rest of us to keep on trucking in the areas we need to grow. Now we get a front-row seat – yea! (or so we like to think 🙂 maybe near the front – ha. Love from two of your favorite stalkers.

  2. Sounds like things are really going great for you now. That is SO exciting!!! Thanks for the update…i feel like i was there with you throughout the day..LOL. Keep us posted!!!

Leave a Reply

