Wake Up, O, Sleeper!


I’m at a place right now where I am starting to see exactly what it is I need to be doing to get to the “next level.”  Not that that makes it any easier to take the next step.
It has been awhile since I posted anything of real substance.  So rather than step lightly into it, I’m going to just dive.

Today I ‘found’ Psalm 119:10.  It’s not that it was just written, but it just popped at me when I was having my quiet time.  I fell in love with it, mostly.  I want this to be the “love chapter” of my life.

I was trying to find the “perfect” version of it, and it kept taking me deeper into it.  Here are two versions that caught my fancy.

Psalm 119:10 (Amplified Bible)
10 “With my whole heart have I sought You, inquiring for and of You and yearning for You; Oh, let me not wander or step aside [either in ignorance or willfully] from Your commandments.”

Psalm 119:10 (The Message)
9-16 “How can a young person live a clean life?
By carefully reading the map of your Word.
I’m single-minded in pursuit of you;
don’t let me miss the road signs you’ve posted.
I’ve banked your promises in the vault of my heart
so I won’t sin myself bankrupt.
Be blessed, God;
train me in your ways of wise living.
I’ll transfer to my lips
all the counsel that comes from your mouth;
I delight far more in what you tell me about living
than in gathering a pile of riches.
I ponder every morsel of wisdom from you;
I attentively watch how you’ve done it.
I relish everything you’ve told me of life,
I won’t forget a word of it.”

What most of the versions had in common were the words wander, stray, break and forget.  “Oh, let me not wander, stray, break, forget or step aside from your commandments.”
So I was looking up the definitions of the words, and a couple of them really hit me. To wander (of the mind, thoughts, desires, etc.) is to take one direction or another without conscious intent or control. To stray is to digress or become distracted. What it says to me is, “Lord, I yearn for you and your ways, do not let me take any other direction without conscious intent or control. Do not let me become distracted or digress from your ways.”
I like how in the Message Bible it says: “I’m single-minded in my pursuit of you; don’t let me miss the road signs you’ve posted. I’ve banked your promises in the vault of my heart so I won’t sin myself bankrupt.”
Being single-minded is to be dedicated; resolute; steadfast.
That really makes me think. He has already done all of this stuff for us. He has already posted road signs, healed us, saved us, died for us. How can we be so bold to think that He isn’t listening to us? We were not a cheap investment, and for what, for us to “bankrupt the vaults of our hearts with sin?” Not me.
This takes my level of purity to a whole new place. Being physically pure is tough enough, but maintaining purity in words, actions and thoughts. Thoughts. Wow.
Our thoughts don’t just pop in there on their own. We have to feed it somehow.
I’m not sure about you, but before I was saved, I surly wasn’t pure. In any way, shape or form. Retraining my whole being won’t just happen over night.
Like Pastor Steve said, “DAH” It Doesn’t Automatically Happen.

I am getting closer.

Some days are harder than others. Some weeks…

But I have a promise.

I won’t be distracted. Not now. I’ve come too far.

Let me end with this:

Ephesians 5:14 (The Message)
11-16 “Don’t waste your time on useless work, mere busywork, the barren pursuits of darkness. Expose these things for the sham they are. It’s a scandal when people waste their lives on things they must do in the darkness where no one will see. Rip the cover off those frauds and see how attractive they look in the light of Christ.

Wake up from your sleep,
Climb out of your coffins;
Christ will show you the light!
So watch your step. Use your head. Make the most of every chance you get. These are desperate times!”

This brings me to the next step; doing what I once thought was my end, but bringing the light with me.

Psalm 57:7 (The Message)
7-8 “I’m ready, God, so ready,
ready from head to toe,
Ready to sing, ready to raise a tune:
‘Wake up, soul!
Wake up, harp! Wake up, lute!
Wake up, you sleepyhead sun!’”

2 thoughts on “Wake Up, O, Sleeper!

  1. Pingback: Trackback | Kelsie J.

Leave a Reply

