Raca!


Some days are better than others.  Those other days…

I’m so thankful for a salt covenant between my brothers and sisters.  It means that I cannot carry offense in my heart.  Yeah, I get mad at people.  Some more than others.  But I have to forgive them.

Matthew 5:22-24

“But I say to you that whoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment. And whoever says to his brother, ‘Raca!’ shall be in danger of the council. But whoever says, ‘You fool!’ shall be in danger of hell fire.  Therefore if you bring your gift to the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar, and go your way. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.”

Not only is it scriptual, but a large part of Celebrate Recovery has to do witht his.
Step #9 says:  We made direct amends to such people whenever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.

It is part of making amends.  It is one way that you can “clear the air,” and get things unloaded that have been holding you back from moving forward.

I’m at that place right now.  There are a lot of things that seem to be weighing me down right now, and I’m actually working hard at releasing it all.  Maybe for the first time ever.

SO!

I say all of that to say this.

I had a brilliant idea the other day while being angry with everyone/everything.  And I am thinking about implementing it in the “PMT Suite.”

I’m sure you’ve heard of it, used it, seen it, etc.  It’s callled the “Rewards System.”  Where if you do something good, ie: your chores, or whatever, you get a little golden star.
Well, I think it would be great to have up here.  I’m not sure what the rewards would be for good behavior, I was just throwing it out there.  Maybe I’ll bring it up at my next meeting.

jr-reward-chart

I had almost forgot about this amazing idea until I read this blog entry by “Prodigal Jon” on the blog Stuff Christians Like.  You should read it.  It makes sense.

I’m done.  You can all carry on with what you were doing.

Leave a Reply

