so this is my devotion for today…


It comes right after yesterday’s “seek peace in our daily lives and respond to frustrations, challenges, or disappointments with meekness” message.

Ouch, right?

So today it says:

“Have you been cheated, treated unfairly, ignored, or harmed in some other way?  No matter the cruelty or pain, beloved, as a child of God your pathway is clear:  you must forgive.

To the very depths of your heart, you must fully forgive whoever has wounded you, deceived you, or transgressed against you.

“But I can’t!”  you say.  No, my friend, it’s not that you can’t but that you won’t.  There’s a big difference.  Know this:  if you do not forgive others, God cannot forgive you.  Remember Jesus’ words in Matthew 6:15:  “But if you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive your transgressions.” So you can forgive, and you must forgive.  The question is, will you?

Or if your complaint is agains God, if you are bitter toward Him, then you need to ask Him to forgive you for your lack of meekness.

Meekness is the sure cure for bitterness-bitterness toward God or bitterness toward man.  Meekness is strong medicine indeed.  And though it may be hard to swallow in some cases, once you have ingested it, you will taste the sweet, healing flavor of life itself.”

GAH!!!

Ok, seriously…  Right now I need this.  You need this.  We all need this.  Sometimes God is right on time.  Actually, according to Pastor Steve’s message this weekend, He is always on time.  We just aren’t always on His time.

Something else that pulls on my heart is the last part of the last sentence…  “… you will taste the sweet, healing flavor of life itself.”  Life has a flavor and it’s healing!  HA!  So…  aparently, this life, after being ingested, will taste sweet.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.  No, really.  I wouldn’t trade my life with anyone else’s life.  I know that right now I’m not soaring in the clouds, but if I were, I’d be a flake.  Actually, I’d be a bird…

Today I found this beautiful flower on the interwebs.  It was totally unrelated to what I was searching for, but it reminded me of something.

A long time ago, years actually…  I was considering why I love the Gerbera Daisy so much.  There are so many different types of them, and they’re all pretty cool looking, but have you ever looked at one up close and personally?  They really are quite beautiful.

The word “Daisy” comes from the contraction of the words “Days Eye,” because they close their petals at night and open back up with the sunlight.

I want to be like that…  I want to be able to automatically just close my eyes when darkeness comes, and open them back up when the sunlight reappears…  without even thinking about it.

So here is the picture I found.

gerbera-1Look at it…  No, I mean look at it.  Do you see all of the little dots in the center?  And how they get smaller as they go in?

God thought to make this flower look like this…  This isn’t a fluke.

Seriously… look at it!

Do you see it?

Every one of those little “speks” are individual little flowers.  They just haven’t bloomed yet.

It’s kind of amazing, right?

That’s us.  You and me.  Tiny little dots that just haven’t bloomed yet.  Thousands of little seemingly insignificant flowers that all make up one big beautiful masterpiece.

God is a pretty smart dude.

And if he was this precise with this one flower…  Just imagine all of the care that went in to us.

2 thoughts on “so this is my devotion for today…

Leave a Reply

