Exactly As I am


I want to come before You exactly as I am.
I want to strip everything away,
leaving nothing in the way
of exposing who I really am,
of what I truly have become,
because You said you’d take this load from me
and I want to take You at Your Word.
So, here it is,
am I still worth it?
I want to lay my pain and my sorrow directly in your path,
so You’ll for sure, not miss it.
I want my shortcomings galore
to plaster the walls so You’ll see just what I have done,
and how,
without You,
have completely come undone.
All the mistakes I’ve made and the price You paid,
am I still worth it?
I’ll take Your Word for it
although I feel like I’m standing where the east and the west meet.
Where the road is forked between victory and defeat
and
I’ve been walking for miles.
Are You still there?
Can You hear me?
Or have I gotten so far off track that You can’t even see me?
Or maybe You’re right here,
whispering or screaming,
“I’ll Never Leave You!”
I’m not sure where, but along the way
I have forgotten how to hear You,
or what you even look like.
I’m trying to see the value that You see in me,
or how Your life given
makes me any more deserving,
but my reflection repulses me.
Am I still worth it?
For now,
I’ll take You at Your Word.
That You loved me so much that You gave Your life for me.
And soon,
I’ll once again
see the beauty You’ve created in me.
But for now
I want to come before You exactly as I am.

Leave a Reply

