2018


It’s New Year’s Eve.

I was in the kitchen getting some coffee as I start my shift and I was reflecting on some things.  The year started out pretty horribly and it’s all my fault.  I set myself up for failure by not expecting great things.  However, I started making some changes and forced things to get better.

In March I made a vision board.  I thought about all of the things I really wanted to accomplish this year and decided that I would make it happen.  Nobody else would do it for me, it had to start with me.

And then God answered: “Write this.

    Write what you see.

Write it out in big block letters

    so that it can be read on the run.

This vision-message is a witness

    pointing to what’s coming.

It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait!

    And it doesn’t lie.

If it seems slow in coming, wait.

    It’s on its way. It will come right on time.

Habakkuk 2:2-3

The board is huge and hangs in my living room where I can see it every day. Some days I don’t even think about it but last week when I was looking at it I realized that I could check multiple things off.

I sure wish I could find a picture of it.

I’ve done a lot but also messed up, but the slips weren’t as bad as I made myself think they were.

I’ve lost over 50 lbs of body.  I’ve been eating healthy and actually enjoy it.  I’ve encouraged others to make lifestyle changes just by my own changes.

I’ve laughed.

I’ve cried.

Oh, man, have I cried.  This job can get you.  Some days I don’t think I can do it anymore but then I don’t see myself doing else.  It’s frustrating and hard but the best thing that has ever happened to me.  I have grown so much since starting here.  All of the jobs in the past were setting me up to excel here.

This might be the first year ever that I am excited to be starting.  I cannot  wait.  Things may not have gone the way I planned in the past, but I can finally see the path and I am SO ready.

Here’s a very poorly recorded song that happened many years ago…

I’ll try to find a picture of the vision board, but I’ve run out of things to say.  I hope you have the best year ever and I can’t wait to hear about it in 365 days.

Edit: picture added20180101_221922

1 thought on “2018

Leave a comment