One Sweet Moment…


On losing…

It’s inevitable.  People come, people go.  Some stay longer than you’d like, some are gone way too soon.

One minute… I was changing the starter in my truck.  I called my dad to tell him all about it.  I left a message.  Later that night I got the call that he was on life support.  I flew out to Salt Lake City the next morning, I said good-bye and then he was gone.

We used to talk on the phone for a long time, usually until my battery died.  We would talk about nothing.  I just wanted to hear his voice.  As time went on, though, the conversations got shorter, I could tell he was having trouble breathing.  We would chat online.  It’s not the same, but at least I could talk to him whenever I wanted to.

I don’t have much to remember him by, just some trinkets I’ve collected over the years and a bit of his ashes.  I kept them in the box for a long time.  Seeing them reminded me that I wasn’t a very good daughter.  I should have called more, visited more, been more.  It’s too late for all of that.  I had a part of his ashes turned in to a glass orb for myself and a glass heart for my sister.

I miss his laugh, his voice…  it seems like forever, feels like a minute.  It doesn’t hurt less, just less often.  It’s not that I don’t think about him, I do, it’s that I remember ridiculous things.  The good parts.  Today I am grateful for technology, it lets me hear his voice one last time.  For one sweet moment.

fodder.jpg

 

Leave a comment